campus life
main office
Teachers' Resources


Received a Six-Year W.A.S.C. Accreditation and Passed A.Y.P.!

KIS Students Are Quality Producers and Effective Communicators



Hawaiian Electric Company's 2012 Sustainable Gift Contest Finalists.  Congratulations to Tesia Cale, Cole Johns, and Danyel Yogi who were finalists in HECO's Sustainable Gift Contest!  They showcased their sustainable graduation gifts at the 2012 Grow Hawaiian Festival at Bishop Museum on Saturday, April 28.  Thanks to everyone who came and supported their efforts. 

Sponsoring Teacher: Ms. Kutsunai


Seaenna Correa-Garcia won 3rd place in the 2012 Hawaii Association of Middle School Poster MOYA Art Contest recognizing the Month of the Young Adolescent!

Sponsoring Teacher: Ms. Kutsunai


The Outstanding KIS Band Program

KIS Band students Samantha Larsen and C.J. Woods were accepted into the Oahu Band Directors' Association Middle School Select Band! Band students Christopher Woods, Mario Formisano, Pablo Furukawa, Matthew Imanaka, 'Aulii Young, Kristian Marubusan, and Jack Carvalho performed solos and duets at the Hawaii State Band Festival. They were adjudicated and earned medals for their excellent-rated performances!

On April 28, the KIS beginning and advanced bands participated in the O'ahu Band Directors' Association Middle School Parade of Bands Festival. On a scale of 1-3, 1 being excellent, the beginning band earned a 1+ from both judges and the advanced band earned a 1+ from one judge and a 1++ from another judge.

Sponsoring Teacher: Ms. Kusunoki


Logan Jordan, who is the 2012 Hawaii Arthritis Foundation's Juvenile Honoree, has been chosen to attend the 2012 Arthritis Summit on April 16 - 18 and address Congress. He will also lead the Hawaii Arthritis Walk on May 20.



Lex Brodie's General Manager, Scott Williams, surprised Logan Jordan with the Lex Brodie's Thank You Very Much award after Logan wrote a letter to his award-winning teacher, Ms. Jenness, thanking her for her help with the his favorite charity, the Arthritis Foundation. Tiny Tadani of OC16 was filming the event for his television show.



Congratulations to all of our students who participated in the Windward District History Day competition at King Intermediate School on Saturday, February 18, 2012!

Moving on to State History Day competition on Saturday, April 14th at Windward Community College are:
Research paper: Samantha Larson, Grade 8
Exhibit: Tatiana Zamora, Grade 8
Website: Shaena Randles, Grade 8
Documentary: Colin Carpenter & Timothy Shinners, Victoria Yarmey, Nikos Foundas, Grade 7

Sponsoring Teachers: Ms.Kutsunai and Mrs. Ringuette


Eighth Grader Tatiana Zamora with her award-winning History Day Exhibit. Tatiana place 3rd in the national contest held in Washington D.C.

Sponsoring Teacher: Mrs. Ringuette


Hawaii History Day State Fair Winners

Off to Washington D.C. - Tatiana Zamora , 1st place in Junior Division for Exhibit and Samantha Larson, 2nd place for Research Paper. Pictured with Teacher Mrs. Ringuette and their proud moms.

An award in honor of Professor Fritz Rehbock was presented to seventh grader Nikos Foundas and his teacher Karen Kutsunai.

Special Recognition goes to Timothy Shinners, Colin Carpenter , Victoria Yarmey and Shaena Randles, for their hard work competing in the State History Day Fair.



Secondary Student Conference representatives with Governor Abercrombie and other Windward Student Representatives.

Kylie's resolution was passed and discussed at the BOE meeting on April 3.

Sponsoring Teacher: Mr. Budenholzer


Eight Kailua Intermediate Science Fair projects were selected for the district-level fair and Certificates of Merit were awarded to Delaney Townsend, Micah Mokulehua, Kamakakai Ka‘ahaaia, Tennison Cantrell, Gunner Goodell, Meaghan Ramsden, Stephanie Scoville, and Rachel Arakawa.

Perry Chang earned special recognition from the Association for Women Geoscientists and Samantha Larson from the US Army: Environmental Science.

Carson Butterbaugh, Mikayla Hanson and Spencer VanDerKamp received Honorable Mention awards.

Kylie Schatz was awarded the 2nd Place overall and a Broadcom Masters award which includes an invitation to compete in the National Broadcom Masters competition.

Sponsoring Teacher: Mr. Esibill


KIS Middle Level Educators of the Year:

Mrs. Kathleen Nullet (2006), Mrs. Cindy Jenness (2011), Mr. Bill Budenholzer (2010)

s National Board Certified Teachers:

Mrs. Karen Frato-Hildebrant and Mrs. Kathleen Nullet

Ms. Kutsunai has been nominated for the 2012 Windward District Teacher of the Year!

s2010-2011 Leader for a Day Essay Contest winners attended a special visit to the Hawaii State Capitol on Thursday, March 8, 2012.  They were hosted by Representative Chris Lee and met Lt. Governor Brian Schatz.  Pictured (L to R):  Stephanie Scoville, Matthew Imanaka, Kylie Schatz, Sammi Larson, and Marissa Kauppi.  Winners also included Micah Mokulehua, R.R., and Alynna Temple.

Sponsoring Teacher: Ms. Kutsunai


Congratulations to Kylie Wilson and Gienah Southichack who won Honorable Mention in the Mayor's Memorial Day Poster Contest. Their artwork will be on display at Honolulu Hale, 3rd floor from May 1 - 31.

Sponsoring Teacher: Ms. Kutsunai


At this year's state science fair, eighth grader, Kylie Schatz was presented with one of two inaugural Miles Muraoka Awards and an iPad 3, given to the best overall public middle school male and female entries, for her project, “Water Pollution in Kawainui Marsh and Canal”.

Sponsoring Teacher: Mr. Esibill

In addition , Kylie received the Windward District Student Council Outstanding Participation Award.


Congratulations to Emily Vaioleti for winning 2nd Place in the 2012 Brown Bags to Stardom Contest for the female vocalist category!

KIS Talent Show Winners!: 1st Place: Emily V., 2nd Place: Evangelyn M., Ami S., Karina S., 3rd Place: Tara L. and Michelle M. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!


Zoey Johnson alongside Mayor Peter Carlisle and BWS Manager and Chief Engineer Ernest Lau. Zoey's poem was chosen as an honorable mention in the Honolulu Board of Water Supply's 2012 Water Conservation Week Poster and Poetry Contest!  Her poem will be featured in the 2013 Water Conservation Calendar and during the summer posted on the BWS website at www.boardofwatersupply.comIt will also be displayed along with all winning and honorable mention entries in Honolulu Hale's Lane Gallery from May 16-25; in the Kapolei Hale Courtyard from May 29-June 15; at Windward Mall from June 18-29; at Kahala Mall from July 2-13; and in the BWS Public Service Building Lobby from July 16-August 3.    Read Zoey's poem.

Sponsoring Teacher: Ms. Kutsunai


Elks Lodge Americanism Essay Contest - Members of Kailua Elks Lodge 2230 are recognizing and honoring four of our students for their outstanding essays.  This year's theme was "Why I Am Proud to Pledge Allegiance to Our Flag." The students are: Cole Johns, Briana Lugo, Cheyne Sato, Kyle Blackham and Rafael Navarro-Gomez.  Congratulations to these students!