head
address
 
home
principal
teams
teams
campus life
report
newsletter
schedules
menus
registration
main office
library
departments
band
avid
avid
ptsa
scc
Teachers' Resources
logo  

KAILUA INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL

FACULTY

2018-2019

2018-2019 Supply Lists: 7th Grade, 8th Grade, Electives

2017-2018 Teaching Teams

2016 - 2017 HQT Teacher Status Information

TEACHER POSITION DEGREE and UNIVERSITY
CERTIFICATION, AWARDS and COMMITTEES

Mrs. Barney

bbarney@kis.k12.hi.us

Language Arts B.A.: English and Creative Writing, Southern New Hampshire University  

Mr. Budenholzer

bbudenholzer@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies
B.A.: Communnication, University of Arizona
PBC in Secondary Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

Hawaii Association of Middle
Schools Middle Level Teacher of the Year (2010)

HQT*: Social Studies, History, Economics, Geography, and Science

 

Ms. Buenaluz 

pbuenaluz@kis.k12.hi.us

Speech Pathologist

M.S.: Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Hawaii at Mānoa
B.S.: Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of Hawaii at Mānoa

CCC-SLP: Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology


Licensed in Hawaii, California, and Oregon

Ms. Bwy

abwy@kis.k12.hi.us

English Language Arts

M.A. in Teaching, Chaminade University, Hawaii
B.A. American Studies, University of Sussex, England

HQT*: Language Arts

 

Mr. Carbone

fcarbone@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

Post B.A.: Special Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.
: Social Science, Hawaii Loa College
Certificate in Substance Abuse and Addiction Studies, University of Hawaii- West Oahu

HQT*:Special Education

HQT*: History, Social Studies

Ms. Childers

tchilders@kis.k12.hi.us

Health    

Ms. Ching

sching@kis.k12.hi.us

 

English Language Arts

 

MEd: University of Hawaii-Manoa
M.A.: University of Hawaii-Manoa
Teacher Certification Secondary Education: University of Phoenix

HQT*: English and ELL

Department Chair

Mrs. Compton

rcompton@kis.k12.hi.us

Student Actities Coordinator

Academic Coach

B.A.: English, Portland State University
PBC: Secondary Education English/Language Arts, University of Hawaii -Manoa

P4C Teacher

HQT*: English/Language Arts

Certified School Level Instructional Mentor

Ms. Cook

lcook@kis.k12.hi.us

ELL

Spanish

MAEd: Curriculum and Instruction, Language Acquisition, Virginia Tech

B.S.: Spanish Education, Appalachian State University (NC)

National Board Certification in Spanish 6-12

HQT*: ELL and Spanish K-12

 

Mr. B. Crawford

bcrawford@kis.k12.hi.us

 

Social Studies
B.S.: Secondary Education emphasis in Social Studies and History, University of Idaho

HQT*: Social Studies, History

Department Chair

Instructional Leadership Team

Ms. Deakins

sdeakins@kis.k12.hi.us

Science

Honors Science

 

 

Post B.A.: Secondary Science, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.: Biology, University Hawaii - Manoa

HQT*: Science

Instructional Leadership Team

Science Fair Coordinator

 

Ms. Dickerson

adickerson@kis.k12.hi.us

English Language Arts B.A.: Secondary Education, English, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA

HQT* - English

Nationally Certified in Step Up to Writing

Nationally Certified in Project Read

College Board Certified

Ms. Evans

cevans@kis.k12.hi.us

Consumer Economics M.A.: Education, University of Hawaii -Hilo

P.D.: Teaching Certification in Secondary Education

B.A.: Political Science, University of Hawaii - Hilo

HSTA Teacher of the Year: Pahoa (2007)

Endorsement to Teach Reading Grades 7-12

HSTA Faculty Representative and APC

Certified School Level Instructional Mentor

Electives Department Chair

Cyber Patriots Coach

HQT*: Social Studies

Mrs. Frato-Hildebrant

kfrato-hildebrant@kis.k12.hi.us

Curriculum Coordinator

Tech Coordinator

Testing Coordinator

M.Ed.: Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in Middle Level Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa
P.D.: Secondary Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Biology, University of Hawaii - Manoa
A.A.: Liberal Arts, Windward Community College

National Board Certification: Science (2009)

PTSA Representative

Executive Director of the Hawaii Association of Middle Level Education

HQT*: Science

Department Chair

Ms. Gammon

egammon@kis.k12.hi.us

English Language Arts

Honors English

   

Mr. Hamada

mhamada@kis.k12.hi.us

Physical Education B.Ed.: Secondary Physical Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

HQT*: Physical Education

Instructional Leadership Team

Ms. Gandy

agandy@kis.k12.hi.us

Science
B.A.: Teaching Certification, Grades 4-8, Psychology and Business, Texas A&M University

Licensed in Hawaii and Texas
Ms. Gorman Science

B.A.: , Environmental Science, University of California, Berkeley

M.A.: Secondary Teaching, University of Guam,

M.A.: National Defense and Strategy, Naval War College

HQT*: Science 6-12

Ms. Collette Honda

chonda@crco.k12.hi.us
Phone: 808-377-0741

Kailua-Kalaheo CRCO Equity Specialist    

Dr. Howard

mhoward@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education Ph.D.: Special Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

M.S.: Special Education, Brooklyn College

B.A.: Special Education, Brooklyn College

HQT*: Special Education, English, Math

Licensed in Hawaii and New York

HSTA Faculty Representative - APC

Certified Hawaii State Smarter Balanced Item Authoring Project in ELA 

Black History Month Coordinator

Instructional Leadership Team (ILT) 

Ms. Kahapea

kkahapea@kis.k12.hi.us

Behavioral Health Specialist

MSW: Social Work - University of Hawaii-Manoa
B.A.: Anthropology, University of Hawaii-Manoa

LCSW - Licensed Clinical Social Worker

Ms Kamai

ckamai@kis.k12.hi.us

Behavioral Health Specialist    

Mr. Kapele

jkapele@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.A.: Education, Grand Canyon University, Arizona
R.I.S.E. - Special Education certification
B.S.: Physical Education, Brigham Young University - Utah

HQT*: Special Education and Physical Education

Mrs. Kidman

ckidman@kis.k12.hi.us

Art
 BA: Education, Brigham Young University
 

Ms. Kimura

kkimura@kis.k12.hi.us

Counselor

M.S.: Psychology, School Counseling, Chaminade University
B.S.: Social Work, Pacific University

 

Ms. Kutsunai

kkutsunai@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies

Honors Social Studies

M.Ed.: Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in Middle Level Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.Ed.: Social Studies, University of Hawaii- Manoa

2013 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year

Windward District Teacher of the Year

2012 KIS Teacher of the Year

HQT*: Social Studies

Honors Coordinator - 7th Grade

HSTA Faculty Representative

Ms. LaBoy

jlaboy@kis.k12.hi.us

Principal    

Ms. Laeha

nlaeha@kis.k12.hi.us

Science M.Ed. Secondary Science, University of Hawaii - Manoa

B.S.
: General Biology, University of California San Diego
HQT*: Science

Mr. Lee

jlee@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

B.S.: Information and Computer Science, University of Hawaii-Manoa.
B.Ed.: Math, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: Math

 

Ms. Liou

kkusunoki@kis.k12.hi.us


Band M.A.: Music Education , University of Hawaii -Manoa

B.Ed.
: Music, University of Hawaii - Manoa

2016-2017 Candidate for Hawaii State Teacher of the Year

2015 Windward District teacher of Year

2013 KIS Teacher of the Year

HQT*: Music

Mrs. Martin

lmartin@kis.k12.hi.us

Maker Space Elective

M.Ed.: Secondary Education, Science - Chaminade University of Honolulu

B.A.: English with High Honors - University of Hawaii at Manoa

HQT*:English and Science

Mr. Maghsoudlou (Mr. Rod)

rmaghsoudlou@kis.k12.hi.us

Solution Center Coordinator M.A.: International Relations and Economics, University of St. Mary's, Texas
B.A.: Political Science, University of Georgia
P.D.: Teaching Certification, University of Alaska and Brigham Young University - Hawaii

HQT*: Special Education and Social Studies

 

Ms. Maldonado

smaldonado@kis.k12.hi.us

Math M.A.: Education K-8 Mathematics
B.A.: Art History, UCLA
Licensed in California and Hawaii
Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Scholarship

Mrs. McWhorter

lmcwhorter@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies


B.S.: History/Government, Brigham Young University - Hawaii
P.D.: Secondary Education Teaching Certification


HQT*: Social Studies

Mrs. Meadows

kmeadows@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies B.A.: Elementary Education, University of Arizona  

Mrs. Naleieha-Betiru

bnaleieha-betiru@kis.k12.hi.us

SSC
Special Education

B.A.: Special Education and Elementary Education, University Hawaii - Manoa
Instructional Leadership Team

Mr. Nelli

rnelli@kis.k12.hi.us

Physical Education

B.S. Physical Education K-12, SUNY Cortland, NY 

Graduated Summa Cum Laude

Mrs. Nullet

knullet@kis.k12.hi.us

Library Media Specialist

E-School Teacher: A.P. World History

MLIS: Library and Information Science, University of Hawaii- Manoa
P.D.: Teaching Certification in Secondary Education: Social Studies, University of Hawaii- Hilo
B.A.: Geography, University of Hawaii- Hilo


National Board Certification: Social Studies (2009)

History Day Educator of the Year (2008)

Hawaii Association of Middle
Schools Middle Level Teacher of the Year (2006)


Global Educator of the Year (2004)

HQT*: History, Geography

School Community Council (SCC)

Treasurer of the Hawaii Association of Middle Level Education

Mr. Ohly

kohly@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

P.D.: Teaching Certification, Cal Poly Pomona, California
B.A.: Economics, Claremont McKenna College, California

HQT*: Math

Math Department Chair

Ms. Parent

dparent@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

M.S.: Education, Johns Hopkins University 

B.B.A: Marketing, The University of Texas at Austin

 

Ms. Pathammavong

npathammavong@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

Honors Math

B.A. Secondary Education - Math, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: Math

Instructional Leadership Team

 

Ms. Reeves

breeves@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.Ed.: Special Education, Chaminade University
B.A.: Communication, University of Hawaii- Manoa
Certification in Preschool Education, P-3

HQT*: English

Department Chair

Instructional Leadership Team

Mrs. Ringuette

lringuette@kis.k12.hi.us


Social Studies

Honors Social Studies

M.A.: American Studies, University of Hawaii - Manoa
P.D.: Secondary Social Studies, University of Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Liberal Studies, University of Hawaii - Manoa

2013 NSDAR Outstanding Teacher of American History

Honors Coordinator - 8th Grade

HQT*: Social Studies, Honors teacher

Ms. Robbins

lrobbins@kis.k12.hi.us

Art B.F.A.:  Art, Florida International University
HQT*: Art K-12

Ms. Rodrigues

lrodrigues@kis.k12.hi.us

http://kisgoldela.weebly.com/

 

English Language Arts

Honors English

B.A.: English, University of Hawaii - Manoa

P.D.: Teaching Certification, University of Phoenix

HQT*: Language Arts (7th - 12th Grade), Mathematics (6th-8th grade)

Language Arts Dept. Chair

The 21st Century Classroom, Level 2

Google Certified Level 1 and Level 2 Teacher
level 2

Ms. Roman

sroman@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education B.S.: Special Education, University of Wisconsin - Madison
HQT*: Math

Ms. Romfo

sromfo@kis.k12.hi.us

Computer Education

Yearbook

 

B.A.: Fine Arts, Western Washington University

P.B
.: Secondary Education Teaching Certificate, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: Art

10 Years Professional Graphic Artist Experience

Apple

Google Certified Level 1 and Level 2 Teacher
level 2

Mr. Sakaida

Records request FAX 808-266-7984 or call school at 808-263-1500

Registrar  
2016 KIS Service Award

Mrs. Sarsfield

lsarsfield@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

B.A.: Mathematics, Lewis & Clark College

M.Ed.: Secondary Education- Mathematics, Hawaii Pacific University

HQT*: Math

Mr. Secreto

jsecreto@kis.k12.hi.us

Vice Principal    

Ms. Shirk

nshirk@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

M.A: Special Education

B.A.: University of Idaho, Political Science and Sociology

Special Education Department Chair

Ms. Sienkiewicz

esienkiewicz@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

Honors Math

M.A.: Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in Middle Level Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.: Mathematics Secondary Education

HQT*: Math

Ms. Tanaka

ktanaka@kis.k12.hi.us

Vice Principal

MEd: Educational Administration, University of Hawaii - ManoaBEd: Elementary Education - Early Childhood Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

 

Mrs. Turner

cturner@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.Ed.: Special Education, Grand Canyon University

B.A.: Social Work, Utah State University 

 HQT*: Mild-Moderate Special Education

Ms. Walker

bwalker@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education B.S. in Mild/Moderate Special Education, University of Utah HQT*: Special Education and English

Ms. Werner

kwerner@kis.k12.hi.us

Reading

M.S.: Special Education, University of Oregon
B.S.: Psychology, Wheaton College


HQT*: English 7-12, Science 7-12

Certified in K-12 Special education

2011 Castle High Teacher of the Year

Ms. Whittington

awhittington@kis.k12.hi.us

Counselor

M.S.: Counseling Psychology, Chaminade University
B.A.: Social Sciences Anthropology, UH West Oahu
A.A.: Liberal Arts, Windward Community College

National Honors Society, KSBE Merit Award

Neurofeedback Trained Canberra, Australia, 2017

Response to Intervention Team (RTI)

Mrs. Willis

ebayne@kis.k12.hi.us

Science B.S.: Marine Biology , Texas A&M, University
B.S.: Biomedical Science, Texas A&M, University

HQT*: Science, Grades 6-12
2015 Hawaii State Department of the Year Award

Science Department Chair

Mr. Wood

jwood@kis.k12.hi.us

 

Physical Education

B.S.:  Physical Education, grades K-12.
University of Mary, North Dakota

HQT*: Physical Education

Instructional Leadership Team. 

 

Mr.Yoshioka

dyoshioka@kis.k12.hi.us

Physical Education M.Ed.: Educational Administration, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.S.
: Exercise Science, Fresno State University

HQT*: Physical Education

NSCA: Strength and Conditioning Specialist, National Strength and Conditioning Association

Department Chair

*HQT means Highly Qualified Teacher under Federal Guidelines requiring teachers to have a Bachelor’s or higher degree; a full Hawaii state licensure; have passed the Praxis II exam, in each of the core (English, math, social studies, science, health, and art) academic subjects they teach; or if secondary, have demonstrated subject matter competency, through a major in the subject area or 30 semester hours of college credits in the subject-area.

 

HOME

 

Last Updated September 1, 2017
 
creditemail