head
address
 
home
principal
teams
teams
campus life
report
newsletter
schedules
menus
registration
main office
library
departments
band
avid
avid
ptsa
scc
Teachers' Resources
logo  

KAILUA INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL

FACULTY

2017-2018

Teaching Teams

2016 - 2017 HQT Teacher Status Information

TEACHER POSITION DEGREE and UNIVERSITY
CERTIFICATION, AWARDS and COMMITTEES

Mrs. Arakawa

marakawa@kis.k12.hi.us

SSC M.A.: Education, Chamimade University
B.A.: English, University of Hawaii - Manoa
A.S.: Medical Lab Technician, Kapiolani Community College

HQT*: English, Special Education and Science

 

Mrs. Brown

lbrown@kis.k12.hi.us

Math and Engineering

B.S.: Industrial and Systems Engineering, The Ohio State University
P.D.: Teacher Education Program: University of West Florida

Certified in Florida and Hawaii

HQT*: Mathematics 

Mr. Budenholzer

bbudenholzer@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies
B.A.: Communnication, University of Arizona
PBC in Secondary Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

Hawaii Association of Middle
Schools Middle Level Teacher of the Year (2010)

HQT*: Social Studies, History, Economics, Geography, and Science

 

Ms. Buenaluz  Speech Pathologist

M.S.: Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Hawaii at Mānoa
B.S.: Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of Hawaii at Mānoa

CCC-SLP: Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology


Licensed in Hawaii, California, and Oregon

Ms. Bwy

abwy@kis.k12.hi.us

English Language Arts

M.A. in Teaching, Chaminade University, Hawaii
B.A. American Studies, University of Sussex, England

HQT*: Language Arts

 

Ms. Calvan

ycalvan@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies

M.A.: Secondary Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Political Science, University of Hawaii - Manoa

HQT*: History, Social Studies

Mr. Carbone

fcarbone@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

Post B.A.: Special Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.
: Social Science, Hawaii Loa College
Certificate in Substance Abuse and Addiction Studies, University of Hawaii- West Oahu

HQT*:Special Education

HQT*: History, Social Studies

Mrs. Chester Math
B.S.:Oceanography, United States Naval Academy
 

HQT*: Math

Math 5-9 Licensure, Western Governors University

Ms. Childers

tchilders@kis.k12.hi.us

Health    

Ms. Ching

sching@kis.k12.hi.us

 

English Language Arts

 

MEd: University of Hawaii-Manoa
M.A.: University of Hawaii-Manoa
Teacher Certification Secondary Education: University of Phoenix

HQT*: English and ELL

Department Chair

Mrs. Compton

rcompton@kis.k12.hi.us

Student Actities Coordinator

Reading Workshop

B.A.: English, Portland State University
PBC: Secondary Education English/Language Arts, University of Hawaii -Manoa

AVID

P4C teacher

Ms. Cook

lcook@kis.k12.hi.us

ELL

Spanish

MAEd: Curriculum and Instruction, Language Acquisition, Virginia Tech

B.S.: Spanish Education, Appalachian State University (NC)

National Board Certification in Spanish 6-12

HQT*: ELL and Spanish K-12

 

Mr. B. Crawford

bcrawford@kis.k12.hi.us

 

Social Studies
B.S.: Secondary Education emphasis in Social Studies and History, University of Idaho

HQT*: Social Studies, History

Department Chair

Instructional Leadership Team

Ms. Davis

ldavis@kis.k12.hi.us

 

English Language Arts

Honors English

B.A.: Education, Northeastern State University, Tahlequah, OK

Certifications: English, grades 6-12 and Social Studies, grades 6-12

Graduated Summa Cum Laude

Ms. Deakins

sdeakins@kis.k12.hi.us

Science

Honors Science

 

Post B.A.: Secondary Science, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.: Biology, University Hawaii - Manoa

HQT*: Science

Instructional Leadership Team

Science Fair Coordinator

 


Dr. Delong

ldelong@kis.k12.hi.us

Principal Ed.D.: Educational Leadership, University Hawaii - Manoa
M.A.: Special Education, University Hawaii - Manoa
M.A.: Education Administration, University Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Elementary Education,University Hawaii - Manoa

Hawaii Principal of the Year

Hawaii Vice Principal of the Year

Instructional Leadership Team

Ms. Evans

cevans@kis.k12.hi.us

Consumer Economics M.A.: Education, University of Hawaii -Hilo
P.D.: Teaching Certification in Secondary Education
B.A.: Political Science, University of Hawaii - Hilo

HSTA Teacher of the Year: Pahoa (2007)

Endorsement to Teach Reading Grades 7-12

HSTA Faculty Representative and APC

HQT*: Social Studies

Mrs. Frato-Hildebrant

kfrato-hildebrant@kis.k12.hi.us

Curriculum Coordinator

Tech Coordinator

Testing Coordinator

M.Ed.: Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in Middle Level Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa
P.D.: Secondary Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Biology, University of Hawaii - Manoa
A.A.: Liberal Arts, Windward Community College

National Board Certification: Science (2009)

PTSA Representative

President of the Hawaii Association of Middle Schools

HQT*: Science

Department Chair

Mr. Hamada

mhamada@kis.k12.hi.us

Physical Education B.Ed.: Secondary Physical Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

HQT*: Physical Education

Instructional Leadership Team

Mr. Heck

jheck@kis.k12.hi.us

Science

B.Ed.: City University of Seattle

Washington State Teaching Certification : Middle Level Math Education

HQT*: Science and Math

Mrs. Hirota

shirota@kis.k12.hi.us

Peer Eduction Program (PEP)

AVID coach/teacher and coordinator

M.Ed.: Chaminade University, Secondary Education, Social Studies

B.A.: Japanese, Anthrology, and International Studies, Pacific University

Study Abroad Certification: Kansai Gaidai University

National Board of Professional Teaching Standards Certified: Social Studies-History (2010)

HSTA Central O'ahu Chapter - Moanalua High School Teacher of the Year (2008)

Hawaii Institute for Educational Partnerships Certificate (2006 )

Class Nobel Educator of Distinction (2004)

Tribes Trainer and Charlotte Danielson Facilitator and Trainer

HQT*: Civics/Government, Foreign Language, Economics, History, Geography

Dr. Howard

mhoward@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education Ph.D.: Special Education, University of Hawaii - Manoa

M.S.: Special Education, Brooklyn College

B.A.: Special Education, Brooklyn College

HQT*: Special Education, English, Math

Licensed in Hawaii and New York

HSTA Faculty Representative - APC

Certified Hawaii State Smarter Balanced Item Authoring Project in ELA 

Instructional Leadership Team (ILT) 

 

Ms. Jenners Peer Education Program (P.E.P.)
B.A. Secondary Education, University of Hawaii at Manoa
HQT*: Social Studies

Ms. Kahapea

kkahapea@kis.k12.hi.us

Behavioral Health Specialist

MSW: Social Work - University of Hawaii-Manoa
B.A.: Anthropology, University of Hawaii-Manoa

LCSW - Licensed Clinical Social Worker

Ms. Kalala

ckalala@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education
B.F.A: Multidisciplinary Fine Arts, The University of the Arts
 
Mr. Travis Kaneyuki
Travis_Kaneyuki@kis.k12.hi.us



Behavioral Health Specialist (BHS) MSCP: Counseling Psychology/School Counseling, Chaminade University

B.A.: Psychology, University of Hawaii-West Oahu

HTSB Licensed School Counselor

National Certified Counselor (NCC)

Mr. Kapele

jkapele@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.A.: Education, Grand Canyon University, Arizona
R.I.S.E. - Special Education certification
B.S.: Physical Education, Brigham Young University - Utah

HQT*: Special Education and Physical Education
Mrs. Kidman Art
 BA: Education, Brigham Young University
 

Ms. Kutsunai

kkutsunai@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies

Honors Social Studies

M.Ed.: Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in Middle Level Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.Ed.: Social Studies, University of Hawaii- Manoa

2013 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year

Windward District Teacher of the Year

2012 KIS Teacher of the Year

HQT*: Social Studies

Honors Coordinator - 7th Grade

HSTA Faculty Representative

Mr. Lee

jlee@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

B.S.: Information and Computer Science, University of Hawaii-Manoa.
B.Ed.: Math, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: Math

 

Ms. Liou

kkusunoki@kis.k12.hi.us


Band M.A.: Music Education , University of Hawaii -Manoa
B.Ed.
: Music, University of Hawaii - Manoa

2016-2017 Candidate for Hawaii State Teacher of the Year

2015 Windward District teacher of Year

2013 KIS Teacher of the Year

HQT*: Music

Ms. Matsunaga

lmatsunaga@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

B.A.: Mathematics, Lewis & Clark College

M.Ed.: Secondary Education- Mathematics, Hawaii Pacific University

HQT: Math

Mr. Maghsoudlou

rmaghsoudlou@kis.k12.hi.us

Solution Center Coordinator M.A.: International Relations and Economics, University of St. Mary's, Texas
B.A.: Political Science, University of Georgia
P.D.: Teaching Certification, University of Alaska and Brigham Young University - Hawaii

HQT*: Special Education and Social Studies

 

Ms. Maldonado Math M.A.: Education K-8 Mathematics
B.A.: Art History, UCLA
Licensed in California and Hawaii
Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Scholarship

Mrs. McWhorter

lmcwhorter@kis.k12.hi.us

Social Studies


B.S.: History/Government, Brigham Young University - Hawaii
P.D.: Secondary Education Teaching Certification


HQT*: Social Studies

AVID

Mrs. Moyer

jmoyer@kis.k12.hi.us

English Language Arts

 

M.A. in Education as a Reading Specialist, Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C.
B.A. English Education, Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, PA


National Board Certified: Early Adolescence/ English Language Arts

HQT*: English/Language Arts Certified to teach K-12 as a Reading Specialist along with Grades 6-12 English

Mrs. Naleieha-Betiru

bnaleieha-betiru@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education
B.A.: Special Education and Elementary Education, University Hawaii - Manoa
Instructional Leadership Team
Mr. Nelli Physical Education

B.S. Physical Education K-12, SUNY Cortland, NY 

Graduated Summa Cum Laude

Mrs. Nullet

knullet@kis.k12.hi.us

Library Media Specialist

E-School Teacher: A.P. World History

MLIS: Library and Information Science, University of Hawaii- Manoa
P.D.: Teaching Certification in Secondary Education: Social Studies, University of Hawaii- Hilo
B.A.: Geography, University of Hawaii- Hilo


National Board Certification: Social Studies (2009)

History Day Educator of the Year (2008)

Hawaii Association of Middle
Schools Middle Level Teacher of the Year (2006)


Global Educator of the Year (2004)

HQT*: History, Geography

School Community Council (SCC)

Mr. Ohly

kohly@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

P.D.: Teaching Certification, Cal Poly Pomona, California
B.A.: Economics, Claremont McKenna College, California

HQT*: Math

Department Chair

Ms. Parent Math

M.S.: Education, Johns Hopkins University 

B.B.A: Marketing, The University of Texas at Austin

 

Ms. Pathammavong

npathammavong@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

Honors Math

B.A. Secondary Education - Math, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: Math

Instructional Leadership Team

 

Ms. Reeves

breeves@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.Ed.: Special Education, Chaminade University
B.A.: Communication, University of Hawaii- Manoa
Certification in Preschool Education, P-3

HQT*: English

Department Chair

Instructional Leadership Team

Mrs. Ringuette

lringuette@kis.k12.hi.us


Social Studies

Honors Social Studies

M.A.: American Studies, University of Hawaii - Manoa
P.D.: Secondary Social Studies, University of Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Liberal Studies, University of Hawaii - Manoa

2013 NSDAR Outstanding Teacher of American History

Honors Coordinator - 8th Grade

HQT*: Social Studies, Honors teacher

Ms. Rodrigues

lrodrigues@kis.k12.hi.us

http://kisgoldela.weebly.com/

 

English Language Arts

Honors English

B.A.: English, University of Hawaii - Manoa

P.D.: Teaching Certification, University of Phoenix

HQT*: Language Arts (7th - 12th Grade), Mathematics (6th-8th grade)

HSTA Faculty Representative

The 21st Century Classroom, Level 2

Google Certified Level 1 Teacher
level 2

Ms. Roman

sroman@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education B.S.: Special Education, University of Wisconsin - Madison
HQT*: Math

Ms. Romfo

sromfo@kis.k12.hi.us

Computer Education

Arts and Crafts

Yearbook

 

B.A.: Fine Arts, Western Washington University

P.B
.: Secondary Education Teaching Certificate, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: Art

Department Chair

10 Years Professional Graphic Artist Experience

Google Certified Level 1 and 2 Teacher
level 2

Mr. Sakaida

Records request FAX 808-266-7984 or call school at 808-263-1500

Registrar  
2016 KIS Service Award

Ms. Saito

nsaito@kis.k12.hi.us

Science M.Ed. Secondary Science, University of Hawaii - Manoa

B.S.
: General Biology, University of California San Diego
HQT*: Science

Ms. Shirk

nshirk@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

M.A: (in progress) Special Education

B.A.: University of Idaho, Political Science and Sociology

Special Education Department Chair

Mrs. Shimmon

sshimmon@kis.k12.hi.us

Counselor

M.A.: Education, Counseling and Guidance, University of Hawaii - Manoa
B.A.: Sociology, University of Colorado

HQT*: Science

Ms. Sienkiewicz

esienkiewicz@kis.k12.hi.us

Math

Honors Math

M.A.: Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in Middle Level Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.: Mathematics Secondary Education

HQT*: Math

Ms. Stewart

sstewart@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.Ed.: Special Education, University of Hawaii- Manoa
M.Ed.: Counseling and Guidance, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.A.: Psychology and Dance Therapy, University of Hawaii- Manoa

HQT*: English

HSTA Faculty Representative

Ms. Tangaro

ktangaro@kis.k12.hi.us

Science

M.S.: Curriculum and Instruction K-12, Western Governors University, Utah
B.A.
: Spanish and Psychology, University of Hawaii- Manoa
Post Baccalaureate: Elementary Education- K-8, Western Governors University, Utah

HQT*: Science

2016 KIS Teacher of the Year

2015 Hawaii State Department of the Year Award

STEM Pre-Academy Coordinator

Department Chair and AVID teacher

Mrs. Turner

cturner@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.Ed.: Special Education, Grand Canyon University

B.A.: Social Work, Utah State University 

 HQT*: Mild-Moderate Special Education

Ms. Werner

kwerner@kis.k12.hi.us

Special Education

M.S.: University of Oregon in Special Education
B.S.: Wheaton College in Psychology


HQT*: English 7-12, Science 7-12

Certified in K-12 Special education

2011 Castle High Teacher of the Year

Ms. Whittington

awhittington@kis.k12.hi.us

Counselor

M.S.: Counseling Psychology, UH West Oahu
B.A.: Social Sciences/Anthropology, Chaminade University
A.A.: Liberal Arts, Windward Community College

National Honors Society, KSBE Merit Award

Response to Intervention Team (RTI)

Mrs. Willis

ebayne@kis.k12.hi.us

Science B.S.: Marine Biology , Texas A&M, University
B.S.: Biomedical Science, Texas A&M, University
HQT*: Science, Grades 6-12
2015 Hawaii State Department of the Year Award

Mr. Wood

jwood@kis.k12.hi.us

 

Physical Education

B.S.:  Physical Education, grades K-12.
University of Mary, North Dakota

HQT*: Physical Education

Mr.Yoshioka

dyoshioka@kis.k12.hi.us

Physical Education M.Ed.: Educational Administration, University of Hawaii- Manoa
B.S.
: Exercise Science, Fresno State University

HQT*: Physical Education

NSCA: Strength and Conditioning Specialist, National Strength and Conditioning Association

Department Chair

*HQT means Highly Qualified Teacher under Federal Guidelines requiring teachers to have a Bachelor’s or higher degree; a full Hawaii state licensure; have passed the Praxis II exam, in each of the core (English, math, social studies, science, health, and art) academic subjects they teach; or if secondary, have demonstrated subject matter competency, through a major in the subject area or 30 semester hours of college credits in the subject-area.

 

HOME

 

Last Updated September 1, 2017
 
creditemail